-- Αγιος Δημητριος -- Saint Demetrios
Ελληνική, Ορθόδοξος Εκκλησία στο Μέρικ της Νέας Υόρκης.
A Greek, Orthodox Church in Merrick, NY.
Start Exploring

downloadcalendar19

Upcoming Activities

 

Friday, April 19
Confessions and Preparation of Palms 4:30 pm

Saturday of Lazarus, April 20
Orthros and Divine Liturgy 9 am
Church School Breakfast
Youth Retreat
Confessions and Preparation of Palms

Palm Sunday, April 21
Orthros and Divine Liturgy 9 am
Fish Luncheon - Bake Sale
Service of the Nymphios 7 pm

Holy Monday, April 22
Orthros of the Nymphios 7 pm

Holy Tuesday, April 23
Orthros of the Nymphios 7 pm

Holy Wednesday, April 24
Pre-Sanctified Divine Liturgy 6 am
Holy Unction 4 pm
Orthros of the Washing of the Disciple's Feet 
and Holy Unction 7 pm

Holy Thursday, April 25
Last Supper
Vespers and Divine Liturgy 7 am
The Passion of the Lord
and the 12 Gospels 6:30 pm

Good Friday, April 26
Great Hours 11 am
Apokathelosis 3:30 pm
Epitaphios 7:30 pm

Holy Saturday, April 27
Vespers and Divine Liturgy
His Grace Bishop Apostolos of Medeia Presiding 9 am
Service of the Holy Light 11 pm

Pascha, April 28
12 midnight the service of the Resurrection
Traditional Paschal Meal after the service
12 noon: The Vespers of Agape
Easter Egg Hunt after the service

Monday, April 29
Saint George the Triumphant
Orthros and Divine Liturgy 9 am

Monday, April 30
Saints Raphael, Nikolaos and Irene
Orthros and Divine Liturgy 9 am

Wednesday, May 1
GOYA Volleyball Practice
Chatterton School 6 pm

Thursday, May 2
Little Angels 10 am - 12 noon
Philoptochos Wreath Craft Decoration 7 pm

Friday, May 3
The Life Giving Fountain
Orthros and Divine Liturgy 9 am

Call our office to become a steward of the Church: (516) 379-1368

 

Name Days

HOPE-JOY (Lena Kovoros and Antigoni Michaels, Advisors): Children (ages 5-13) are welcome to participate in the spiritual, social, athletic and philanthropic events of this organization. Highlights of their activities include the Ice-cream ice breaker, movie nights, talent shows, costume parties, ice skating, dances, games, lectures, talks with the Pastor, Volleyball and Basketball as well as participating in the Archdiocesan Olympics and other sports. They also raise money for the Church and for worthy causes and they run a large booth during the Annual Parish Festival.

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS

Friday, September 29: REGISTRATION and Meeting

Registration: $30 per child, $40 per family

JOY ages: 7-12 years old, HOPE: 5-6 years old

Siblings are welcome, party is free, but siblings pay entrance fee if they are not JOY members ($5)

Friday, October 6: Gym Night (Lakeside)

Friday, October 13: Gym Night 7 pm (Lakeside)

Friday, October 20, 7 pm: COSTUME PARTY

Friday, November 10, 7 pm: Thanksgiving Gathering

Friday, November 17, 7-8 pm: Gym Night (Lakeside)

Friday, December 1, 7 - 8 pm: Gym Night (Lakeside)

Friday, December 8, 7 - 8 pm: Gym Night (Lakeside)

Friday, January 12, 7 pm: Frozen Movie Night

Friday, January 19, 7 - 8 pm: Gym Night (Lakeside)

Friday, January 26, 7 - 8 pm: Gym Night (Lakeside)

Friday, February 2, 7 - 8 pm: Gym Night (Lakeside)

Friday, April 13, 7 - 8 pm: Gym Night (Lakeside)

Friday, April 20, 7 - 8 pm: Gym Night (Lakeside)

Friday, April 27, 7 pm: JOY Meeting at the Church Hall

Friday, May 4, 7 - 8 pm: Gym Night (Lakeside)

Friday, May 18, 7-8 pm: Gym Night (Lakeside)

MEMORIAL WEEKEND: Archdiocesan Olympics

July: Archdiocesan Camp Saint Paul

The kids are having an amazing time at the costume party!

George Rekkas (pictured with proud mom Elisavet) has won the pumkin contest. Michelle is helping with the arts and crafts.

The Mummies, sorry, Mommies, are also participating in the fun and games!

 

The Church

The Greek Orthodox Community of Saint Demetrios in Merrick, New York was founded in 1961. On December 1959, under the guidance of the late James (Demetrios) Boulukos a meeting took place with the intention to establish a parish in the South Shore of Long Island.

Saint Demetrios

Why We Love Saint Demetrios
Great People
Huge Parking
Dynamic Community

donate